Lovely Lunenburg Waterfront

photo

Acrylic (from a photo), 15×30          Janet Rimmington, 2015

My first love has been watercolour painting, working on and off in the medium for many years.  But after some prompting by a couple of painting friends, I’m trying to paint with acrylics.  It has been a bit of a learning curve for me. Seems I can’t quite shake the watercolour painter out of me. But the greatest advantage of acrylics is that they are so forgiving.

This is my most recent piece and it a pretty big one (for me).  And it represents a pretty big commitment of time.  Several weeks.  (I generally complete a watercolour in one sitting).  I feel  pretty happy with it.  That is important because it is already spoken for and will likely hang in a place where I will see it regularly.  It would be nice to be able to enjoy that, and not have it haunt me.  If you know what I mean.

I worked from a photo which explains all the lovely green (not easily found in Lunenburg in February).  And not a snowflake in sight!!  For that reason alone, it has been a lovely diversion…. it feels more like July. Or… as Vincent Van Gogh has been quoted:

I dream my painting, and

Then I paint my dream.

7 thoughts on “Lovely Lunenburg Waterfront

  1. LifestyleswithLia February 23, 2015 / 10:47 pm

    You’re so incredibly talented!! Your painting captures the scene perfectly…I’ve never been but can imagine it so, thanks to the reality of design in your colors and shapes!
    Compliments to you!!!

Leave a Reply

