Bearing Gifts

image image

Change always comes bearing gifts – Price Pritchett

Perserving season is here.  The time for hovering over bubbling pots.  Here, some lovely local peaches and pears change into a delicious (and favourite) chutney. If I don’t preserve anything else this season, this chutney is a must.  We reach for it in the deepest of winter to accompany any warming curry we are having for dinner.  But today, with the sharpness of the vinegar and the sweetness of the fruit rising from the pot, this house smells absolutely glorious!  Here the recipe – a gift for you…..

Peach & Pear Chutney

4 each, peach, pear & onion and 12 tomatoes (all peeled and chopped) into the pot.  Cover with 1 pint of vinegar, 4 cups of dark brown sugar and 3 tbsp of pickling spice (tied in cheesecloth). Bring to rolling boil, then reduce heat to simmer until reduced by half (may take a few hours). Pour into sterilized jars.

weekly photo challenge

10 thoughts on “Bearing Gifts

  1. Tresa's Art October 1, 2015 / 9:26 pm

    Something for me to aspire to. Great photos!

  2. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread October 1, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    We have a dear friend who makes all kinds of jams and gifts them to us. When I spread some on my toast in the morning, I think of her with a smile, and thank my lucky stars she is my friend. 🙂

  3. litadoolan October 3, 2015 / 9:29 am

    Peach and pear chutney sounds delicious. I wish I had a kind pal to gift this to me. Will definitely try the recipe for myself. i guess I could make myself popular by gifting it to others 😉 Sounds beautiful

  4. Julie@frogpondfarm October 4, 2015 / 1:19 am

    Lovely pics … I just love curry. Pass over the chutney please 😀

  5. LifestyleswithLia October 5, 2015 / 12:55 am

    Your post makes my mouth water! I can almost smell the chutney cooking on the stove! Thanks for sharing the recipe and photos with us! I wish I could taste it 🙂
    Hope all is well with you and that you had a lovely weekend!
    All my best,
    Lia 🙂

    • JanetRimmington October 8, 2015 / 7:10 pm

      Hi Lia!! Thanks! Sorry for the delayed response. These are busy days. (Happily). So glad you enjoyed the post and I hope you get a chance to try the recipe. 😊

      • LifestyleswithLia October 9, 2015 / 2:07 am

        No problem at all! I feel swamped with work and blogging has unfortunately suffered 😦 I hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

