That Was A Treat!

image

Two weeks ago, I was in Ottawa with my travelling husband and the trip happened to coincide with our Federal  election.  I was very curious to witness the atmostphere in the capital city during an election.  Would it be like being in the home town when an important sports games was being played?(cue the “O-K! Blue Jays” anthem)  It wasn’t!  A cold, grey, drizzly night – it was especially quiet.  Even for Ottawa.

But the next day was an entirely different story.  There was a buzz of chatter everywhere, as the reality of our newly elected majority government sank in.  The place felt a little lighter, maybe a little hopeful. Even the sun came out.

I found myself on Wellington Street in the afternoon, sharing a crosswalk with our handsome, newly minted Prime Minister.  He was surrounded by a gaggle of photographers – I was not. I did have my camera, however, and I’m pretty sure he’s looking straight at me in this shot!  What a treat for me!

In addition to the relief and happiness of the election results, which the majority of the population obviously feel is a treat for the country, I can’t help but reflect on what a treat it is to live in a country in which the Prime Minister can share a crosswalk with the likes of me.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Treat

10 thoughts on “That Was A Treat!

  1. compostingwords November 1, 2015 / 11:27 pm

    Congratulations on your new prime minister. I happy for Canada and am looking forward to seeing what he does.

    • JanetRimmington November 1, 2015 / 11:42 pm

      Hi! Thanks! Yes, me too. It will be interesting. For the moment, though, we are enjoying the “breath of fresh air”.

  2. Tina Schell November 2, 2015 / 2:18 am

    What fun for you!! A special treat for sure.

  3. Julie@frogpondfarm November 2, 2015 / 11:13 pm

    Oh wonderful! I have to share this with you .. years ago when we lived in town I used to go to the gym (women’s part). And there large as life about 10 feet away was our Prime Minister Helen Clarke working out. I was speechless!

    • JanetRimmington November 3, 2015 / 3:33 am

      That’s very cool!! You shared a real experience with her. It speaks volumes about our two countries. There are a great many countries in which the leader simply could not go to a public gym. Aren’t we lucky?! 😊

  4. true_north November 5, 2015 / 10:45 pm

    It’s like the windows have been opened and fresh air is coming in. I watched the swearing in of the Cabinet yesterday and was moved by the sense of joy and openness that the event had. It’s clear that Justin and his team were just not ready – for another four years of the dour Harper approach!

    • JanetRimmington November 6, 2015 / 2:03 am

      That’s it exactly. You could almost hear the country exhale (at least from where I stood). Such a relief!

Leave a Reply

