All’s Quiet on Waterfront


With a half hour to spend between visiting the Farmer’s Market (every Thursday morning) and the opening of the wool shop (they’re having a sale!), I took myself for stroll along the waterfront yesterday. Why don’t you come with me?

It’s a “working waterfront” all year around, but a lot quieter this time of year than, say, the hight of tourist season.

The golf course, across the harbour, does double duty as the community’s sledding hill in winter.

Hey you, pigeon!

Playing with reflections.


The Dory Shop.  I could hear boat building going on inside.
 Ironworks Distillery, housed in a former blacksmith shop.  The store may be closed, but smoke from the chimney suggests the still is working and there’s something brewing.

It’s soon time to take down the Christmas decorations. This Christmas “tree” is made from old lobster traps, and was a popular family/group photo spot over the holidays.

Time to go. Just one last glance.  So peaceful and lovely.

 

20 thoughts on “All’s Quiet on Waterfront

  1. graydaysandcoffee January 8, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    peaceful and lovely indeed. Thanks for taking us with you! 🙂

  2. Osyth January 8, 2016 / 3:56 pm

    What a stunning set of photographs – I really did feel I was walking around this beautiful place on a perfectly glorious day. Thank you 🙂

  3. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread January 9, 2016 / 1:21 am

    Great walk. I especially loved the lobster trap tree. We have a marine shop here in town who puts one out each year. It always makes me smile. 🙂

    • JanetRimmington January 9, 2016 / 1:25 am

      Thanks! The “tree” is a little weird, and at the same time delightful. It’s the first time for us. But it was a very popular venue, so I expect we’ll see it again. I’m so glad you enjoyed our walk.

  4. BuntyMcC January 9, 2016 / 2:31 am

    Thanks for the tour. My daughter worked in a bar there one summer and I’ve not been since. (18 years?) I’m wondering how long before the first lobster trap tree appears on PEI.

  5. germac4 January 9, 2016 / 6:23 am

    Great photos…I always forget how bright and clear winter days are..(when we are in summer!). I enjoyed the whole walk, and especially the shadows of the buildings on the water. Thanks for the post.

    • JanetRimmington January 9, 2016 / 1:50 pm

      Thanks! Ahhhhhhh…. Summertime! I’ll trade you…. 😉

  6. pagedogs January 10, 2016 / 2:01 pm

    That was a nice way to spend a little extra time. I especially enjoyed the reflections. And the lobster trap Christmas tree is similar to the one we have here in Rockland. Perhaps they are becoming trendy!

    • JanetRimmington January 10, 2016 / 6:57 pm

      Hi! I’m so glad you enjoyed our little walk😀. I think you are right. The Christmas trees are becoming a ‘thing’. It might be interesting to find out where it all started ….,

  7. dunelight January 13, 2016 / 1:29 am

    Thank you for an excellent photo essay. This reminds me a lot of Maine.

    • JanetRimmington January 13, 2016 / 2:07 am

      Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos! Maine is much the same place….. In many ways.

Leave a Reply

