Life Imitates Art ….

“Life imitates art far more than art imitates life” – Oscar Wilde

    
  
These photos were taken in the European Art section of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC last year.  I’m afraid I don’t know the titles of the originals. I didn’t wish to get between the piece and the artist to read the tags – and I’m not smart enough to know them otherwise.

I was absolutely taken with the process of reproduction as I’d never seen it done before.  Being nosey, I was able to speak a little bit with the artists to get permission to take these iPhone photos.  The artist responsible for the second painting was happy for me to take a photo, but she didn’t want to be included.  

Back to Oscar Wilde.  If you are looking for a witty quote, he’s your man.  I sometimes read them for pure enjoyment. But that always leads to reflection. I haven’t struck one yet that doesn’t completely resonate.  With that in mind, here’s another quote of his …. to close this post:

“No great artist sees things as they really are.  If he did, he would cease to be an artist” – Oscar Wilde

WPC – Life Imitates Art

11 thoughts on “Life Imitates Art ….

  1. julieallyn February 13, 2016 / 1:07 pm

    Both reproductions are quite good! I enjoy a good quote – I will have Google your good buddy Oscar Wilde. 🙂

    • JanetRimmington February 13, 2016 / 1:14 pm

      Thanks Julie! I encourage you to give him a Google! But when you do ….. Set aside some time…

  2. Osyth February 14, 2016 / 3:58 pm

    I was brought up near Reading (Berkshire, England) so Oscar Wilde who was thrown into Reading Gaol for his homosexuality was bound to be on radar from a young age. You are so right – he can provide the tonic any time. A brilliant writer, a brilliant wit. And I love this photograph which is a brilliant take on the theme 🙂

    • JanetRimmington February 15, 2016 / 12:39 am

      Brilliant, indeed! And according to “The Economist” Wilde’s play “The Importance of Being Earnest” premiered on this day in 1895, to much acclaim. A fabulous thought on St. Valentine’s Day! 😀 Lucky you to be brought up in that environment.

      • Osyth February 15, 2016 / 7:46 pm

        How funny – I was searching for a handbag yesterday which suddenly seems very apt!

Leave a Reply

