Weathered Door

An uncharacteristically warm early Spring day calls us outside like nothing else.  On this day I met with a friend for a nice long walk in Feltzen South – a charming hamlet in Lunenburg Bay.

When I stopped to take this photo, my friend commented, “I wonder if that door will even open anymore?” We didn’t try to find out.  I suspect that if we had, we’d have had a bit of trouble getting it to close again.  And in a weathered building like this, it might be best to keep the stories inside.

IMG_4946

I’m a huge fan of board and batten siding.

IMG_4945

IMG_4944

This is linked with Norm’s Thursday Doors….

12 thoughts on “Weathered Door

  1. Norm 2.0 April 8, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    Love that old weathered look! I wouldn’t have tested that door either. Opening it may bring the whole building down 😉

  2. joannesisco April 9, 2016 / 11:36 am

    For years as a child, we had an old battered barn like this behind our house. I considered it a scary place and was terrified to go in there!

    • JanetRimmington April 10, 2016 / 12:14 am

      I bet that old building – the one in your back yard – has stories to tell. These old places feel mysterious.

      • joannesisco April 10, 2016 / 1:42 pm

        That’s exactly it! They do feel mysterious like it has hidden stories.
        As a child though, I was more afraid of snakes and spiders 😉

      • JanetRimmington April 10, 2016 / 8:04 pm

        Ewwwww! Yes! Snakes and spiders would keep me away, too.

  3. Julie@frogpondfarm April 9, 2016 / 8:03 pm

    A great door to an old barn. Think you sure would have probs closing it 😃

    • JanetRimmington April 10, 2016 / 12:16 am

      Indeed! Some things are best left untouched.
      I was thinking of you today. Is it harvest time in your vineyard?

  4. Dan Antion April 10, 2016 / 12:03 am

    Beautiful old weathered building.

    • JanetRimmington April 10, 2016 / 12:19 am

      Thanks, Dan! Old buildings like this really speak to me. I always wonder who hopes and dreams were tied to them.

      • Dan Antion April 10, 2016 / 12:22 am

        Thanks Janet. I hoping that the current dreamers have better luck than the dreamers of the past.

      • JanetRimmington April 10, 2016 / 12:32 am

        Ah, yes. Providing the dreamers of today can match the “doers” of yesterday. 😉

Leave a Reply

