A Variation On The Theme

This Thursday, I’m sharing a sketch (or two) of my humble chicken coop door.

  
I’m not sure which version I like best …

  
The chooks sure love the “open door policy”.  When I’m at home and can let them free range, they spend the day hunting for bugs and taking dust baths. Then at dusk, they march back in, and one by one hop up on the roost, muttering their good-nights to each other.  Very sweet.

  
But that rooster? Hmmmmm.  He and I are still working things out.

For Norm’s Thursday Doors

16 thoughts on “A Variation On The Theme

  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread May 20, 2016 / 10:50 am

    I wouldn’t call your coop or your drawings ‘humble.’ It’s a handsome coop, and you have some real skills. I love seeing your beautiful sketches. Applause to the artist. πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington May 20, 2016 / 1:54 pm

      Thank you Judy! I appreciate the encouragement ☺️

  2. Osyth May 20, 2016 / 4:55 pm

    Its a lovely coop – one that I could roost in myself and your pictures are hardly humble. Really – I’m the humbled one … you are one talented chick πŸ˜‰

  3. julieallyn May 20, 2016 / 5:37 pm

    I really like this! My baby sister just purchased her first hens while hubby finishes the custom coop they’re building. Will have to share this with her!

    • JanetRimmington May 20, 2016 / 6:48 pm

      Oh! Do! I’m so glad! You’ll have to warn your sister that she may be about to fall in love again. Chickens! Who know that such stupid creatures could become so dear? Let me know how it goes…..

      • julieallyn May 20, 2016 / 6:51 pm

        I will. I sense some future posts on my part… πŸ™‚

      • JanetRimmington May 20, 2016 / 6:53 pm

        I expect you are right! πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

  4. Julie@frogpondfarm May 20, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    Wonderful coop .. I’ve been like that with that odd rooster too. Bit unsure. Handsome bloke though …

    • JanetRimmington May 20, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      He is handsome. I’ll give him that. And he does a good job with his hens. But we have had a few confrontations that have ended in bruises – for me. At the moment I seem to be able to “talk him down”. He calms down and walks away when I speak to him. But I still just don’t trust him. If only I could convince a hen ( or two) to go broody and hatch a few chicks – then I think it’s off to freezer camp for Sir.

  5. sustainabilitea May 21, 2016 / 10:04 pm

    Not just a great door and lots of talent but at some point, delicious eggs!

    janet

  6. Norm 2.0 May 24, 2016 / 6:29 pm

    The first sketch is nice but the second one has more doors in it, so by default it gets my vote just for that. I really liked them all though – good post.

  7. joannesisco May 29, 2016 / 12:26 am

    A delightfully cute variation of the theme πŸ™‚ I like the idea that the chickens know to head back indoors for the evening!

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 1:22 am

      Me too! It’s comical to watch them file in at dusk.

Leave a Reply

