This is “The May”

It’s a little difficult to believe.  For me, anyway.  But here we are … Looking the end of May in the eye.  I’m just not quite sure how that happened so quickly. The garden has been busy!  It seems to have gone from dormant, winter mode into full-on spring/summer growing season within days!  Okay, maybe weeks.

Let’s take a quick walk around and see what has been happening this month:

The primula and …

 The bluebells are showing off.

 The forsythia is almost finished, but the hardy kiwi is leafing out.

 In the kitchen garden, the garlic is well up,

 The parsley has returned – it doesn’t always make it through the winter – and …

 The asparagus looks like it’s dancing!  I covered the early sprouts with a cloche to protect them from pillaging chickens.  And it worked!  This meager offering is my best asparagus crop. Ever. But don’t they look funny?

 The apples are blossoming, and …


So are my darling haskaps.


We had the first bud break in the vineyard yesterday.  I think this is the Baco Noir. (Note to self – label vines!)


A family friend refers to this time of year – when the choke cherry trees blossom, the maple buds swell, and the tender young leaves start to emerge; when the landscape looks frothy – as “The May”.  A lovely, and promising description.

But!  Enough of this!  There is work to be done…

 By the looks of that rhubarb, I have some harvesting, chopping, freezing and preserving to do.  I’m off ……

15 thoughts on “This is “The May”

  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread May 28, 2016 / 12:00 pm

    Oh my goodness, my pulse is quickening at all your beautiful plants. I’m very interested in your netting system. I’m wondering if it might work for my blueberries. 🙂

    • JanetRimmington May 28, 2016 / 2:59 pm

      Hi Judy! It might work. As you can see, we just ran a heavy gage wire along the tip of the intermediate posts, then draped the netting over (securing firmly on the ground). Still remains to be seen how well it will fend off raccoons once the berries ripen. I’ll let you know!

  2. Julie@frogpondfarm May 29, 2016 / 9:46 am

    Your garden looks amazing! Wow what about that rhubarb .. And those asparagus sure do look like they are dancing! Gorgeous looking garlic .. Well done 😃

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 1:18 am

      Thank you, Julie!! I envy your near year round gardening. Here, everything is completely dormant ….. Until suddenly, it not! Then, everything seems to happen at once. I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos. 😀

  3. Osyth May 29, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    Where did it go? That long winter and rapid spring … enjoy your garden – it looks delectable 🙂

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 1:20 am

      Hey! Thanks!! And here’s to an equally long summertime. Cheers!

  4. graydaysandcoffee May 30, 2016 / 3:18 am

    I agree that “the May” flew by! Your plants and photos are wonderful!

  5. joannesisco May 30, 2016 / 4:16 pm

    I like the look of your May. It is so lush and colourful. Did I hear Baco Noir? I think your *gardens* are in a class of their own 😉

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 7:43 pm

      Haha! Did you say *glass*? No, no. I see. That was *class*. 😉 we have vineyard, buts a tiny one (as vineyards go). About an acre.

      • joannesisco May 30, 2016 / 8:34 pm

        Good one!

        … and an acre sounds huge to me. I have enough trouble keeping up with the demands of a lot that’s only 40 x 120 😉

      • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 9:01 pm

        I certainly agree with that! It’s big enough for me.

  6. BuntyMcC July 8, 2016 / 4:06 pm

    What a fantastic garden you have. I bet those asparagus tasted wonderful.

Leave a Reply

