Spare

This scene is part of my morning commute. This beautiful Lunenburg Dory greets me in the morning and again in the afternoon. 

Now, I am not a morning person.  Slow to rise, and constantly underestimating the time it takes to get out the door generally makes for a rushed, and frazzled drive to work. I have always been that way. 

When I see scenes like this one, where the water is calmand the morning light is perfect, I regret not having the time for a photo. No time to stop. 

But on this particular morning (last Wednesday) I couldn’t resist.  I could not. I pulled over, hauled out my phone, quickly snapped the shot, then rushed off.  Not a second to spare to check the photo.

Later, however, when I caught my breath,  I was glad I stole the moment.  Maybe, tomorrow I’ll get up a bit earlier πŸ˜‰ .

WPC – spare

15 thoughts on “Spare

  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread May 30, 2016 / 12:32 pm

    Absolutely perfect photo for this challenge. I’m thinking you need to change the alarm clock five minutes so you always have time to take a beautiful shot like this. πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 12:38 pm

      You are right about that! With the added benefit of having a gentler morning all around.

  2. Osyth May 30, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    My eldest daughter introduced me to the wonders of the daylight alarm clock … so much gentler and you get to enjoy a more placid awakening and the joy of being sprightly first thing to breathe in the undoubted rewards of early morning πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington May 30, 2016 / 10:34 pm

      Hi again! I did take a look at the daylight alarm clock. It’s very, very interesting. I may give it a try in the wintertime. But I’m wondering if it would be as effective this time of year. My bedroom faces east, I have no curtains on the windows (hello, sun!) and we have a rooster. Since you have one already, what do you think? That said, I’m very intrigued. Thanks for the tip.

      • Osyth May 31, 2016 / 4:06 pm

        You are right about summer but I would get one before winter so you are used to it. Maybe not quite yet – the sun and old Rooster Cockburn will win hands down – but maybe in September. The daughter was always an early but I’ll tempered riser from babyhood … The clock has helped her wake more naturally and gently. As for me …. I used to feel quite aggressive towards the alarm bell …. This works much better for me and therefore my marriage!!!!

      • JanetRimmington May 31, 2016 / 4:48 pm

        This sounds great!! I’m going to try it. Thanks again for this!!πŸ˜€

      • Osyth May 31, 2016 / 4:53 pm

        I really hope it works for you …. For me it really has been night and day!

  3. arv! May 31, 2016 / 1:47 pm

    Great take on WPC-Spare

  4. Julie@frogpondfarm June 1, 2016 / 10:01 am

    I’m very pleased you stopped! What is it about rushing around in the morning ..😊

    • JanetRimmington June 1, 2016 / 1:07 pm

      I don’t know, but it makes me crazy! And (to add insult to injury) I fear I’m too old to change.

    • JanetRimmington June 1, 2016 / 1:11 pm

      But I’m glad I stopped on that morning, too. So very glad you liked the photo.

  5. joannesisco June 20, 2016 / 9:19 pm

    This photo was definitely worth the stop!

    • JanetRimmington June 20, 2016 / 9:21 pm

      Thanks Joan!! It’s okay – I made it to work on time. Just. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

