A Fine Day


It started out foggy here this morning. You can see the fog is still laying off shore, waiting to make its way back in this evening.  That’s typical weather for us on hot summer days.  

I took advantage of the cool fog to head into the vineyard and start the trimming and tieing up. And wow!  That’s five rows done!  I’m so pleased. The fog had retreated and it was mighty hot by the time I’d finished, but a satisfying accomplishment nonetheless.

Then to clean the chicken coop, because who enjoys a dirty coop (especially in this heat and humidity)?!  Now it’s all cleaned up, with fresh bedding and even some rose petals sprinkled in the nesting boxes.  I collected 4 eggs for my efforts there. 

A load of laundry on the line, the kitchen cleaned up and supper is ready. And the anticipation seeing #1 son, who will be home for dinner tonight.  What could make this day any better? 

An hour or so of quiet time on the porch  swing in the shade (feet in the warm sun), a light breeze, my book and cuppa, surrounded by roses. That’s my cherry on top!


I know. I know. The rose bushes need a trimming, too.  I’ll save that for tomorrow. πŸ˜‰

WPC – cherry on top

18 thoughts on “A Fine Day

  1. Osyth July 27, 2016 / 7:50 pm

    Dreamy … that’s how you make this day sound. I’m glad you had the cherry on top – me time is so important πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:55 am

      It sure was dreamy – at the point of writing. Earlier in the day found me overheated, in a sundress and rubber boots (terrified of ticks) and battling horseflies. But with the work done, and a wee bit of time to spare to myself = bliss!

      • Osyth July 29, 2016 / 5:32 am

        Such a swan you are πŸ˜‰

  2. karenrealfood July 27, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    Well done on a great day’s work. It’s nice when the flow is there πŸ™‚ Enjoy the cherry on the top!

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:52 am

      Thanks! It felt good to get those first 5 rows trimmed and tied. Just 8 more to go…… πŸ˜“ The cool morning fog helps – I might be the only person around who hopes for a little fog in the morning …. Or evening.

  3. Su Leslie July 27, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    The best sort of busy day. Worthwhile accomplishments, moments of peace and the company of loved ones for a meal. Perfect!

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:46 am

      Thanks! They were worthwhile accomplishments. It felt good to get them finished and still have time to chill.

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:38 am

      That’s a fact! The garden chore list is longer than the hours available to do it. Just like housework. πŸ˜‰ Except the season is so short and intense, the work can can feel frantic – and in my case yesterday, a bit over-whelming. Those grape vines were weighing on me.

  4. joannesisco July 28, 2016 / 1:14 am

    You had a very busy day. You totally deserved to put your feet up for a rest!!

    Rose petals in the chicken coop? That’s a very nice touch πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:25 am

      It was a pretty busy day. Five rows is a lot for me to manage on one day. But it was the heat that made me wilt. It was just the first time this summer that I took the time to sit on the swing – for longer than it takes to drink a cup of coffee. I’m must say, I enjoyed it.

  5. Julie@frogpondfarm July 28, 2016 / 11:03 am

    What a gorgeous view .. And I love the idea of petals in their nest box πŸ˜„ busy girl ..

    • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 12:04 am

      Thanks, Julie!! The view stops me in my tracks several times a day. Rose petals are a nice touch. Lavender works well, too. Not sure if the hens like it or even noticed … But it makes me feel happy. πŸ˜€

      • Julie@frogpondfarm July 29, 2016 / 6:58 am

        The mites know when you put in lavender .. Ha ha they don’t like it! Good ..

      • JanetRimmington July 29, 2016 / 5:00 pm

        I wonder if rose petals have a similar effect?

Leave a Reply

