Artistic Quest

Quest: /kwest/ a long or arduous search for something. Late Middle English from Old  French queste (noun). – OED


I wouldn’t call it an arduous search, particularly. But my quest to find my artistic style (or voice?) has certainly been a long one.  Life-long, in fact. 

These days I’m exploring sketchbooking through on-line classes. The idea is to develop a daily creative practice.  I can’t quite say that I’ve made it a daily activity (yet) but I’ve learned such a lot through this format. If you try it (and I’d recommend it to any one), beware – it’s addictive!

 This evening I followed instructor Liz Steel’s demonstration on drawing a tea cup. I couldn’t resist giving it a go myself. And whoosh!  An hour and a half slipped by, just like that!

19 thoughts on “Artistic Quest

  1. julieallyn September 28, 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Lovely! My son loves to draw and paint and I’m inspired to give it a go myself sometimes. Reality often comes crashing down, however, as I realize I truly do not have an artistic bone in my body. But, I may just have to try again with a determination to see what develops. πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington September 28, 2016 / 4:01 pm

      Whaaaat? No artistic bones in your body? That’s not a true statement – I’ve seen your photos, remember? You are very artistic, Julie! If you are interested in learning more about sketchbook ing, check out http://www.sketchbookskool.com. And see what you think…..

      • julieallyn September 28, 2016 / 4:04 pm

        Roger that. Will do! Oh. And thanks for the kind words. πŸ™‚

  2. Joanne Sisco September 28, 2016 / 3:20 pm

    I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of a sketchbook. Your’s looks interesting … as in you actually know how to sketch!

    • JanetRimmington September 28, 2016 / 3:59 pm

      Thanks, Joanne! If you are interested, I recommend checking out http://www.sketchbookskool.com. I’m at on my second “kourse”, and have picked up lots of tips. It’s a very encouraging community.

      • Joanne Sisco September 28, 2016 / 7:51 pm

        Thanks. I did take a look at it and it looks very interesting!

  3. myfigs September 29, 2016 / 2:17 am

    Nice blog! I just started my new one…
    Take a look πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy
    I’m working on the same quest too…

    • JanetRimmington September 29, 2016 / 2:34 am

      Thanks! I took a look. Great quote! I’m looking forward to following yours …

  4. pierrmorgan October 4, 2016 / 4:19 pm

    Glorious!! That’s it – Danny Gregory’s sketchbookskool, here I come. Soul food. Even for a couple lines and doodles on a blank page to look at later and admire. Thanks for the nudge!

    • JanetRimmington October 4, 2016 / 4:29 pm

      Awesome!! Let me know how you enjoy it! ☺️

      • pierrmorgan October 6, 2016 / 7:32 pm

        Loving it! Late signing up (session started Sep 30) but I’m katching up, euphoric to finally be doing it. πŸ™‚

      • JanetRimmington October 6, 2016 / 11:54 pm

        Wonderful! Which Klass you taking

  5. lavendermoongirlblog October 19, 2016 / 4:26 pm

    Love your teacup. The colours are so like your ‘Royal Albert’ gorgeous cup and saucer. Keep drawing, sketching and painting. I find my writing and art hobbies very relaxing!

    • JanetRimmington October 20, 2016 / 1:24 am

      That’s it exactly! This stuff helps keep us grounded.

Leave a Reply

