Take a Breath, And Make a Wish …

“And about this grass now. I didn’t finish telling.

It grows so close it’s guaranteed to kill off clover and dandelions – 

Great God in Heaven! That means no dandelion wine next year!  That means no bees crossing our lot!  

You’re out of your mind, son.”              – Ray Bradbury, Dandelion Wine (Green Town, #1)

Because our “lawn” started as a cow pasture, I don’t worry much about the plants that grow in it.  Consequently, I enjoy wild strawberries, Queen Anne’s Lace, vetch, clover and dandelions (to name a few) throughout out the year.  

Like school children, I welcome the cheerful yellow of the dandelion in spring.  And later I marvel at the tiny perfection of their seed heads.  And just when those ungainly stems threaten to spoil the look, a chickadee will land on one to feast on the seeds.  How light must a chickadee be, to stay perched on a dandelion stem?  Or, perhaps the dandelion is stronger than it looks.

13 thoughts on “Take a Breath, And Make a Wish …

  1. pierrmorgan November 15, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    Love what you’ve written. I live in a treeful apartment complex and enjoy daily bird visits, Chickadees especially, but I sooo miss the meadow I let grow in the backyard of the little home I once owned. Your post is a sweet visit there again. Thanks!

    • JanetRimmington November 15, 2016 / 4:42 pm

      Oh, how lovely!! Thanks for saying so! I’ll think of you the next time I see a chickadee.

  2. Osyth November 15, 2016 / 5:28 pm

    To some eyes, many probably, our garden is rather scruffy but look closer and you will see that we have nearly 30 varieties of birds and we have frogs and toads and harmless snakes, and chipmunks and two sorts of squirrel, skunk, opossum, groundhog, deer and raccoon. And they all help in their own way …. even if it is just to help me feel wed to this place so full of life and delight! Your yard is right up my alley!!!!

  3. Julie@frogpondfarm November 19, 2016 / 6:18 pm

    Oh I love what you have written too .. Beautiful image. I can just imagine the little bird feasting ..how superb is nature 😃

  4. Ruth-Anne West December 2, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    Dandelions are indeed tougher than they look 😉

  5. samba2017 April 24, 2017 / 11:14 am

    Thanks for sharing. I love dandelions! They are so sunny and happy looking. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to look? Today’s post is about being in the moment and features a pic of me lying in a dandelion meadow! Happy Monday, Sam 🙂

Leave a Reply

