A Walk Around Toronto – with Thursday Doors!

After last week’s snow stormy extravaganza, I was lucky enough to escape it all and head to Toronto.  


See you later snow banks!

My husband was working in “the big smoke” all week and number two son was also there, visiting his girl during university spring break.  Sometime you just gotta go where your people are. 


And wow!! It was as if we travelled to another country!  Toronto was all sunshine and warm temperatures! Not a snowflake in sight. 


Glorious!


The boy and I explored s bit of the University of Toronto in search of an exhibit at the university Art Gallery.  




The UofT boasts some pretty spectacular doors.

We found our way to the Toronto Stock Exchange, but we’re not brave enough to try the door. 

Together, all four of us took in the Toronto Light Festival in the Distillery District. 


And yesterday we were treated to record-breaking high temperatures – for February. That was good news for me. Not so great for the skaters, who made their way through about an inch of water over the ice. (Nice reflections, though)


We finished with a stroll along the waterfront. Not bad, eh?

Thursday Doors

18 thoughts on “A Walk Around Toronto – with Thursday Doors!

  1. Audrey February 25, 2017 / 12:10 am

    Love the last photo 😀 Lovely way to end the evening after an exciting day.

    • JanetRimmington February 25, 2017 / 12:12 am

      Thanks!!! It was a good visit. Proof we don’t always to travel to somewhere exotic to re-charge. On our way back to reality …

  2. pierrmorgan February 25, 2017 / 12:11 am

    Wonderful get-away shots! Though I love that one of your front walkway the best.

  3. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread February 25, 2017 / 12:20 pm

    Wow – from huge snowbanks to beautiful sunny days. What a trip. 🙂 Hope you had a marvelous visit with your people.

    • JanetRimmington February 26, 2017 / 8:56 pm

      Thanks Judy! It WAS truest marvellous! And very nice to get outside and walk.

  4. Norm 2.0 February 25, 2017 / 3:39 pm

    You found some beauties. Amazing how quickly the weather has changed.

  5. Joanne Sisco February 25, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    You were in Toronto!!

    I’m glad you were treated to our exceptionally warm weather this past week. It’s not been hard to take … especially for walking around and playing tourist.
    U of T is a treat to visit. I always seem to discover something new that I didn’t notice on a previous visit. My problem is that I snap away and then don’t remember what building the door belonged to!

    You have some serious snow waiting for you at home. You have my deepest sympathy!

    • JanetRimmington February 26, 2017 / 8:53 pm

      It was a bit like going south! I stole the opportunity to walk and walk and walk. It was lovely. I’m happy to report the temps (part of them, anyway) made their way east …. which has done a terrific job of melting the snow. I’m in complete agreement with you regarding the UofT – a delightful place to explore. And I, too, can’t remember the names of the buildings!! (I was so sure I would 😉)

      • Joanne Sisco February 26, 2017 / 9:01 pm

        I’ve now learned to try and take a photo of something that will give me a hint of what I was looking at. It helps!

      • JanetRimmington February 26, 2017 / 9:02 pm

        Great idea! So simple. (!!) Thanks 😀

      • Joanne Sisco February 27, 2017 / 1:17 am

        Happy to help 🙂
        It doesn’t always work, but it does more often than not.

    • JanetRimmington February 26, 2017 / 8:58 pm

      Toooo much snow!! I’m happy to report that’s it’s all beginning to melt. ☀️

  6. Julie@frogpondfarm March 1, 2017 / 2:38 am

    Absolutely not bad! Great shots Miss .. love the last. And what about your wall of snow! Wow .. Handsome son 😃

  7. afairymind March 8, 2017 / 11:58 pm

    A wonderful set of pictures, Janet. I particularly love the contrast of the first two – the snowy scene followed by blue skies. 🙂 It looks like a great trip, with lots of impressive doorways.

    • JanetRimmington March 9, 2017 / 12:01 am

      Thanks!! I enjoyed the contrast too – at least I was traveling in the right direction… away from the snow banks. 😉

  8. Amy March 17, 2017 / 5:56 pm

    Beautiful door captures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

