Dense

We have come to learn that beaches are living things. 
In the summertime, at one of our local beaches, the sand is soft and warm and goes on forever. But in winter, it all disappears!!!  It’s a little alarming the first time you experience it. 

I have no idea where it goes (…maybe south…). But I do know that we can count on it to return when the weather warms up. 

In the meantime, there is no shortage of exposed, beautiful, smooth beach stones. In fact, the beach is crowded with them!


WPC- Dense

20 thoughts on “Dense

  1. beaconsoflife April 4, 2017 / 4:05 am

    I just love this and I love rocks. I would have so much fun there.

    • JanetRimmington April 4, 2017 / 11:25 am

      It’s a little bit addictive. Combing through all stone stones.

  2. Osyth April 4, 2017 / 6:20 am

    Lovely shots but really, I had no idea that sand … migrates? Hibernate? I’m enthralled with this new knowledge. Amazed and enthralled

    • JanetRimmington April 4, 2017 / 11:30 am

      It’s interesting isn’t it? We were shocked when we first discovered this. But, since then I’ve come to appreciate the ebb and flow of it all. Adds an extra layer to the changing seasons here.

  3. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread April 4, 2017 / 11:59 am

    Now that is interesting. I love smooth stones. I have bought them by the pail for a dry creek bed before. I’m afraid I’d be checking them out and filling my pockets. 🙂

    • JanetRimmington April 4, 2017 / 12:07 pm

      It’s not allowed. At least not by the pailful 😉. But sometimes a stone just speaks to you, you know. And explains the parade of beach stones on the windowsill.

  4. Joanne Sisco April 4, 2017 / 10:43 pm

    That is so odd! I’ve never heard of a beach transforming like this from season to season. How interesting!!

    • JanetRimmington April 4, 2017 / 10:50 pm

      I’d kinda like to know where the sand goes, to tell you the truth. I suppose the winter storms/currents pull it off shore and then return it when the direction changes. But, I don’t KNOW that ….

      • Joanne Sisco April 5, 2017 / 2:19 am

        That’s the weird part … and really cool when you think about it!

  5. restlessjo April 28, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    How very strange! Disappearing pebbles… 🙂 I don’t know your part of the world, sadly.

    • JanetRimmington April 28, 2017 / 7:05 pm

      Actually it’s the sand that disappears (only to return from holiday in Spring). The disappearing sand exposes the pebbles, which are beautiful, too. But a bit tricky to walk on … 😏

      • restlessjo April 28, 2017 / 7:09 pm

        Sometimes I think I should read what I write! Sorry, Janet- I haven’t got my thinking head on today. I did know it was the sand and meant to say that it still looks lovely. 🙂

      • JanetRimmington April 28, 2017 / 7:38 pm

        Don’t be silly. I just thought my post wasn’t clear. It is a bit of an odd phenomenon, though, don’t you think?

  6. sustainabilitea April 28, 2017 / 8:02 pm

    There are so many types of beautiful beaches.

    janet

Leave a Reply

