The Theatre of Disapearance – Collage

On my most recent visit to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, I kept a promise with myself and made my way to the roof-top for a glass of wine while overlooking Central Park and the Manhattan skyline. A pretty spectacular and indulgent treat, I thought. (Especially as I was alone and the wine was not inexpensive) 


To my absolute surprise and delight, I found here this extraordinary installation by Argentinian artist Adrian Villar Rojas – The Theatre of Disappearance. 


In this exhibit, the artist used the Museum itself as as inspiration. Each piece represents replicas of nearly 100 objects from The Met collection. 


Each object is a fusion (or collage) of various, otherwise unconnected pieces from the collection, drawing from thousands of years of artistic production over several continents and cultures. 


It’s is all rendered in the same black or white material and coated in a layer of dust. 


It was equally eerie and mesmerizing.  Simply breathtaking set against that magnificent backdrop. 


I was happy to slow down and admire, taking it all in while juggling my wine glass with my camera. 

If you are in NYC, the show runs until October 29, 2017 at The Met Fifth Avenue. I recommend it!  

WPC –collage

15 thoughts on “The Theatre of Disapearance – Collage

  1. Osyth July 18, 2017 / 10:28 pm

    It feels like Pompeii meets Alice in Wonderland … incredible!

  2. sustainabilitea July 18, 2017 / 10:48 pm

    That’s really something, Janet! All that and the view as well. Worth the price of admission I’d say. Thanks for sharing.

    the other janet

    • JanetRimmington July 19, 2017 / 12:36 am

      Indeed!!! Especially as the price of admission is what you wish to pay – minimum of $1. Pretty good deal! I made up for it in the price of the wine. πŸ˜‰

  3. Hoarder Comes Clean July 19, 2017 / 2:46 am

    I do so love that roof top view and only get to NYC once a year or so. Thanks for posting, it looks like you had a gorgeous day to be up there.

  4. Julie@frogpondfarm July 24, 2017 / 5:47 am

    The exhibition and the backdrop looks fab! What a Great experience. Hope the wine was good too πŸ™‚

    • JanetRimmington July 28, 2017 / 3:09 am

      The wine was a nice treat. A refreshing one on a hot day. I had imagined sitting and sipping – focusing on the wine and the experience. But I hadn’t reckoned on the exhibit. It was mesmerizing. And with so many people, there was no place to sit. So I meandered around, alternating sipping and snapping (photos). And now I can’t even recall what the wine was. (!!) Except that it was French. And very nice. (It’s another one of those things that I thought I’d just remember). But!! Taken together, the whole experience was a memorable one. Hope all is well with you, Julie!! You must be beginning to think of Spring …

      • Julie@frogpondfarm July 28, 2017 / 7:24 am

        Sounds like a grand event! I most certainly am thinking about Spring πŸ˜ƒ

      • JanetRimmington July 28, 2017 / 12:20 pm

        Just before Spring is the most potential-filled time on the calendar. I think. Wishing you success in all your planning…

    • JanetRimmington September 7, 2017 / 4:14 pm

      Thank you!! Lucky is right!! 😁.
      Your post is great!

Leave a Reply

