Doors of Shelburne Farms 

Even though it was technically closed for the season (no admission charged 😀), we managed a good walk on the grounds of Shelburne Farms yesterday.


This is a charitable education organization, with a campus that is a 1400 acre working farm, forest and National Historic Landmark on the shores of Lake Champlain, Vermont. 

 
This magnificent farm barn houses, among other things, the cheesemaking facility, offices  … 


And a bakery, which was open! (Yes, we bought one of those warm from the oven loaves) … and … through these doors…


A school!! A kindergarten to Grade 8 school!  


Imagine being a kid who gets to go to school IN A BARN!!  Or his teacher! I think that would be my dream teaching job. 


This farm barn is just magnificent!




Just past the barn, the trail took us through the woods. We went past a sugar shack – the doors shut – all ready and waiting for the late winter maple sugaring season. 



A little further along, we came across the Coach House.



Here, the door was open, inviting us in to view an interesting art exhibition. 

Then it was on to the Inn. It appears that the main house of the original estate is now the Inn and Restsurant. It was closed for the season, but tempting for another time. 



I might have to come back again sometime. In season. 

Linked with Norm’s Thursday Doors 

15 thoughts on “Doors of Shelburne Farms 

  1. Norm 2.0 October 21, 2016 / 8:20 pm

    Nice shots Janet. I keep meaning to stop in when I go down that way. Next time I think I will 🙂

    • JanetRimmington October 21, 2016 / 8:46 pm

      Thanks Norm! If you go “in season” I might see you there. Because I’d definitely like to go again. But, I must say, it was lovely yesterday, too.

  2. Osyth October 21, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    What a fabulous place – that barn is beyond belief and I’m hungry now with all that talk of oven warm bread and cheese! My eldest daughter went to Kindergarten in a barn on a farm which had animals such as rare breed pigs and donkeys and sheep. It was magical and she still talks about it 25 years later!

    • JanetRimmington October 21, 2016 / 8:55 pm

      It’s worth a visit for sure!
      What a wonderful experience for your daughter. I’m a little bit jealous- in the nicest possible way. I think you should be congratulated on getting her there.

      • Osyth October 21, 2016 / 8:59 pm

        We were in the right place at the right time but it certainly was very special …

  3. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread October 21, 2016 / 9:12 pm

    Oh my, this looks like a marvelous place to visit so I pinned it to my ‘wish’ list. Thank you for the tour and the many handsome doors. Bread looked heavenly.

    • JanetRimmington October 22, 2016 / 2:34 am

      The bread was devine! Our greatest challenge was in keeping it dry during the rain showers. We succeeded! And then ate it all up in the car

  4. CadyLuck Leedy October 22, 2016 / 8:45 am

    Wow this was a very good post! I loved the photos and placed the site on my bucket list! Thank you for sharing!

    • JanetRimmington October 22, 2016 / 2:46 pm

      I’m so happy that you enjoyed! Definitely add Shelburne Farms to your list. Thanks for your happy comments! ☺️

  5. Julie@frogpondfarm October 25, 2016 / 6:46 am

    Oh what a stunning location! And how special going to school in a barn!

    • JanetRimmington October 28, 2016 / 1:46 am

      I know, right? The idea of having a school in a century old barn – which is still used as a barn has just completely caught my imagination. It just seems so right – on so many levels. But you are right, it is a stunning location – and we were there on a cloudy, dark day. Definitely going back.

  6. Joanne Sisco November 14, 2016 / 1:32 am

    It’s a beautiful facility and your photos capture it well. My favourite photo is the one just after the classroom … the building with the clock tower.

    • JanetRimmington November 14, 2016 / 1:55 am

      Thanks Joanne! I really loved this place. I’d like to see it another time – perhaps in season when all the activities are in full swing.

Leave a Reply

